Weekly Calendar

rebecca Announcements

In response to the spread of the COVID-19 virus, NSMC will not meet at the Civic Center for worship until further notice.

Friday, October 2

  • 4:00-6:00pm Come-and-Go Women’s Coffee (contact Patty for details on how to join the Zoom gathering)

Sunday, October 4

  • 10:00am Zoom gathering time
  • 10:30am Worship via Zoom (contact Anne for details on how to join the Zoom worship)
  • 7:00pm NSMC Music Hour hosted by Jim (contact Anne for details on how to join)

Tuesday, October 6

  • 7:00pm Informal Zoom fellowship time (contact Anne for details on how to join the Zoom gathering)

Wednesday, October 7

  • 12:00pm Deadline to submit images for Comfort photo essay
  • 7:00pm Zoom Bible Study on the Gospel of John, hosted by Ric (contact Anne for details on how to join the Zoom Bible Study)

Friday, October 9

  • 4:00-6:00pm Come-and-Go Women’s Coffee (contact Patty for details on how to join the Zoom gathering)

Sunday, October 11

  • 10:00am Zoom gathering time
  • 10:30am Worship via Zoom (contact Anne for details on how to join the Zoom worship)
  • 7:00pm NSMC Music Hour hosted by Jim (contact Anne for details on how to join)

Last call for proposals for Equipping Seminars! If you have an Equipping Seminar to offer at MennoCon21 (Cincinnati, Ohio, July 6-10, 2021), please submit a proposal by October 10, 2020. https://www.mennoniteusa.org/equipping-seminars

Women in Leadership, a ministry of Mennonite Church USA, is presenting “What We Need Is Here,” a series of webinars engaging theological work born out of women’s experiences. The next two webinars will address intersectionality (Oct. 11 @ 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT/5 p.m. MT/4 p.m. PT) and navigating patriarchy (Oct. 22 @ 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT/5 p.m. MT/4 p.m. PT). Register by Oct. 8 here: https://forms.gle/kARRY9JLTcZv4duf9

The Mennonite Church USA Executive Board recently met to report on its strategic plan, approve a budget and affirm a process for addressing polity concerns. Read about it here: https://www.mennoniteusa.org/news/eb-meeting-sept-2020/.  The Executive Board also responded to the report from the Membership Guidelines Advisory Group:
https://www.mennoniteusa.org/news/processes-advisory-group-report/

Join Mennonites across the church who are reading Stephanie Lobdell’s “Signs of Life: Resurrecting Hope Out of Ordinary Losses,” as part of a Common Read, a shared reading experience. Learn more here: https://www.mennoniteusa.org/news/common-read/

Creation Care Tip of the Week

Make Your Plan to Vote by Election Day, November 3, 2020

Our votes determine who makes important policy decisions. It is imperative that every elected official at every level of office prioritize protecting God’s creation. Check out Creation Justice Ministries’ voting guide, which we will update with faith-based get-out-the-vote and civic education resources as they get posted in 2020. Please check your state government websites for information about all the candidates to help you make an informed decision.